Home
Discussion Forums
Papers
Authors
Web Links

May 6, 2024, 3:39 pm UTC    
May 22, 2005 11:01AM
Hey

I am Michelle's friend (HI Michelle!) who posed the original question. As Michelle said earlier, I am working long hours right now, and in the early stages of moving home, so haven't had a lot of time for the net of late.

Thank you all for your thoughts they have been very interesting to read!!

I gave the letters as a stream as I believe that the message is in more than one language. I studied Latin at school, but that is over 20 years ago, and I did not get far enough into it to be able to remember all but the crudest knowledge of it now. However, my French is slightly better, but still not good enough to decipher this.

I really liked lobo-hotei’s post with the inserts that could possibly refer to Scicily as the context of the words in the original quote from which the above stream is taken (which I believe is a cipher) was to do with “reparations”. I ask if anyone knows is there is any connection between the invasion of Scicily Lobo is discussing and Grail lore and the Templars?

I say this as my interest in the stream of letters comes from my investigations into my family tree which seem to suggest that my family came over from France around 1100 to 1150. I am curious as to why they came over to Britain. There is evidence of Templar and other high religoius and secular office in the tree and my family were certainly powerful people at that time and beyond: until the end of the Templar era when they seemed to nose-dive. The faimly also seem to have held lands in areas where there was Templar activity here in Britain. DarkUser’s reference to Anglo-Norman would confirm a suspision I have about the quote and about my family tree if indeed there were an Anglo-Norman translation. The quote comes from an area of France where there is a fair bit of Templar/Grail legend.