Home of the The Hall of Ma'at on the Internet
Home
Discussion Forums
Papers
Authors
Web Links

April 19, 2024, 12:34 am UTC    
April 20, 2021 12:43PM
Okay so having worked in furniture for many years I soon realized that some pieces looked great others were a disappointment. Now we know why.

Blame it on Phi.

But now to my theory that it is inherent in us. That we create things with Phi without even realizing it and this is one example I studied and really was quite astounded by the results of my finds.

There is a game I am sure we have all played and it simply Darts.

"Modern darts was invented by a carpenter from Lancashire named Brian Gamlin in 1896. However the history goes back much farther. Darts began as a military pastime originating in England during the medieval era in the first couple of decades of the fourteenth century."

It is said that darts dates from Medieval Times and is over 700 years old ... here for more details: [darthelp.com]

The question I have is have you ever looked at the dart board and realized just how pleasing and symmetrical and calm the board looks ? Well here is an image of a board to refresh your mind.

Now be honest, this thread is about Phi. How Many of you see it ?

Enjoy my study of The Dart Board ...

Now we have a problem. The numbers have been checked and are correct but are we to suppose that Brian Gamlin, being a secret student of phi, decided to incorporate it into the modern dartboard. I doubt it more likely that it was just the most pleasing arrangement he could come up with.

another look:

But there is one more place I found it and I think this merits comment.

I was sitting at the table and we had taken a large old oak clock off the wall and it was it laying off to the side of the table and I sensed that it would tell me more than just the time so I decided to measure it.
'
Here is that study. I couldn't find my original so I did a new one. It will work on any clock.